Taste testing the cheese

Four weeks can seem like a long time, but finally the cheese was ready to taste.  I had waxed it, since the recipe said to, so it had a lovely red coating.

CheeseMatured

 

It smelt good and had a very mild flavour, so we decided to divide it into four pieces.  We ate the first then left the rest in my “cheese cave”.  After another week we tried it again.  And how did it taste?  Actually I am not sure how to describe taste!  The flavour was stronger, and I quite liked it, but there is a definite aftertaste that I don’t enjoy so much.  One friend who tried it said it reminded her of Wensleydale, but since I have never tried Wensleydale I can’t comment.  Obviously I need more experience in eating cheese!!

We have two more waxed quarters still in the “cave” which we will try after they have matured even further.  I am looking forward to trying more types of cheese in the future.  Perhaps some Brie next?  I have made Mozzarella a couple of times, but just the quick 30  minute type which doesn’t have much flavour at all.

4 Responses to “Taste testing the cheese”

  1. ihtreuer Says:

    well done, it looks nice I often divide into quarters too, then age the other ones even longer.

    If you want your mozzarella to have some more flavour, you can add some lipase to the milk. It will amp up the flavour for you.

    • milkenunny Says:

      You are very encouraging, thanks!
      I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and found it very helpful, particularly your posts on making a cheese cave.
      One thing I noticed with both my cheddar and mozzarella is that they seem a little dry compared to the store bought cheeses I am used to. We were wondering if it could indicate a low cream or butterfat content in our cow’s milk. Would you have any ideas about that with all your experience ?
      thanks
      Cathy

      • ihtreuer Says:

        I am not too sure, but you could be cutting the curd too small,or over working it during the stirring. What type of cows do you have?

      • milkenunny Says:

        I checked out some different recipes for mozzarella, and I think you are right that I both cut the curd too small and over worked it. The recipe I was following was a bit light on details. I’ll have to try again now. It is quite fun this cheese making isn’t it, I can see it could become addictive. Time consuming though!
        My one and only cow is a friesian cross hereford that we raised from a day old calf, she gives us 4 litres of milk each morning and feeds her own calf the rest of the day.
        Thanks for your help.

Leave a Reply

